Easter is one of the key Christian ‘religious’  seasons.images

Religion would have us doing this and that, at this or that time.  They can be valuable and authentic reflection times but in and of themselves are not life-giving. We’ve even tried to ‘Christianise’ the egg giving by adopting the egg bringing forth new life.

I believe the infallible truth is that God did send His only son to reconcile us to Himself.  After all He did make us in His image.  That does your head in straight away doesn’t it?   That’s all mankind, not just the socially acceptable or conformist?  If it doesn’t do yours in – it certainly does mine.  UNTIL… we understand that it is God’s gift to mankind to once again be in communion with Him. Which simply means that He is always glad to be with us. Yep – ALWAYS – whether we’re sad, angry, happy, indifferent, resentful – no matter what we’ve done, whether we acknowledge Him as Lord and Saviour. He wants to be in union with His created image.   The greatest love story of all…..

“How is that possible”   you might well ask?  Because it’s not based on our PERFORMANCE.  You see we can’t ever earn God’s love.  We just need to accept it – it’s a free gift.

No strings attached?   No strings attached.

If you’ve ever struggled with that I would highly recommend reading http://www.theshackbook.com/

There are only two commandments in the good book after the Easter transaction

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul and mind”     and

“Love your neighbour as yourself”

Even in that God has given us a gift so that we don’t have to perform, to measure up, to strive.

We just need to let the everlasting presence of Himself, the Holy Spirit, live in and through us.

“To live and move and have our being in Him”

There’s no getting away from it  – life can, does and has thrown some doozies at us (me).

I could live my life no other way than knowing the person of Jesus Christ, the ongoing presence of the Holy Spirit made possible by our loving God.

Am I perfect – no way!  Do I get it right all the time – I wish!  And there are lots of times when I ‘forget’ who I am in Him and He needs to remind me if I’m having a rant, or feeling down ‘Ah but you’ve forgotten who you are. You’ve forgotten that my burden is light, my yoke is easy. Consider the lilies of the field – do I not clothe them daily? My joy is your strength’. 

 He is faithful.     His mercies are new, every day.

Have a blessed Resurrection Sunday